Aberystwyth Council


Cartoon Illustration of Aberystwyth Town Hall

Aberystwyth is an elected statutory body, a local council whose commitment is solely for the town and community of Aberystwyth. The council provides a number of services in the town and contributes financially towards services provided by other statutory bodies and organisations. The council operates a committee structure to better organise its responsibilities and governance. Details about these committees such as their membership and functions are available.

Composition of Membership

Currently, Plaid Cymru have the majority. The membership breakdown is as follows:

  • 13 - Plaid Cymru
  • 3 - Liberal Democrat
  • 2 - Labour Party
  • 1 - Independent

Mayor of Aberystwyth

Councillor Kerry Ferguson is the current Mayor of Aberystwyth, who assumed office in May 2023 and will serve until May 2024. The Deputy Mayor for 2023-24 is Councillor Maldwyn Pryce.